Home > Arts > Geography

1.2.0 The solar system

1.2.1 The concept of a solar system (Note that Pluto is no longer considered a planet) Order of the planets -
    1. Mercury
    2. Venus
    3. Earth
    4. Mars
    6. Saturn
    7. Uranus
    8. Neptune
The four inner planets from the sun namely Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars are referred to as “terrestrial planets” because - They are all relatively small, rocky in composition and clustered together close to the sun and they are visible to the naked eyes, which means they resemble Earth

Examples of celestial bodies - Asteroids, moons, planets and stars

Aphelion - The position of the Earth when it is furthest from the Sun

Asteroids - Rocky planetary bodies which orbit the sun

Eclipse - Occurs when three heavenly bodies (e.g. planets/stars) are in one line and one of them is a source of light such as when the moon comes between the Sun and Earth Equinox - Occurs twice a year, when the tilt of the Earth's axis is inclined neither away from nor towards the Sun, the centre of the Sun being in the same plane as the Earth's equator

Meteorites - Pieces of hard matter such as rocks falling from outer space

The Milky Way - The galaxy which contains our solar system and the planet Earth, it is our galaxy

Download complete notes
Download Past paper

Home | Contact Us | Science | Arts |Technical studies.
©, Designed by:Aurelio Mofuga.